Who are Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi, two new deputy CMs of Bihar?

  • by Staff@ TSD Network
  • November 17, 2020

Who are Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi?: Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar Chief Minister for a sixth term. But like Uttar Pradesh, Bihar now has two new deputy chief ministers to assist Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

Both the deputy chief ministers are to be from the BJP. The two deputy CMs are Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi. Both Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi have been low-profile BJP leaders in Bihar, and are known to complete the tasks given by the party without making a fuss. He won the Katihar seat in the Bihar Assembly in the 2020 election, defeating Ram Prakash Mahato of the RJD by around 10,000 votes. This is the fourth straight victory for Tarkishore Prasad from the Katihar seat.

While Renu Devi is another leader from the larger Baniya community. She comes from the Noniya (also known as Teli in some parts) caste. In Bihar, the Noniya caste is placed under the Extremely Backward Class (EBC) community. Nitish Kumar has developed the EBC as a loyal vote bank in the last 15 years. To get more information on this topic, watch the video linked below; 

Renu Devi served as a minister in the Nitish Kumar cabinet formed after the 2010 Bihar Assembly election. She was elected as the deputy leader of the Bihar BJP legislature party on Sunday.

A fourth-time MLA from the Bettiah seat in the Champaran region — a BJP stronghold — of Bihar, Renu Devi is known for being close to the RSS, like Tarkishore Prasad, and also to Bihar BJP chief Sanjay Jaiswal. Interestingly, all three belong to the Vaishya.

Credit: India Today

Facebook Comments
Staff@ TSD Network

Our hard-working staff writing team | You can reach us at 'contact@tsdnetwork.com'
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedIn
  • instagram